Jam vs Ruttl

Jam is for the bug; Ruttl is for design review across files. Jam's free plan carries console, network, a two minute replay and screen recording, then $14 per creator a month billed yearly. Ruttl pins comments on websites, mobile apps, images and PDFs at $18 per user a month, with no console, network or replay anywhere.

  • Reviewed
  • 3 pending verification
Jam

Jam

A browser extension and an iOS app that turn what just happened into a shareable object carrying console logs, network requests and user events, aimed at handing it to a coding agent.

How a report is made
A Chrome extension, an iOS app, or a Recording Link that needs no account
Free plan
30 Jams a month, 5 Recording Links, recordings up to 5 minutes, 5 creator seats
Paid plan entry
Team, $14 per creator a month billed yearly, for up to 50 creator seats
Ruttl

Ruttl

A feedback tool spread across surfaces rather than depth: live websites, mobile apps, images and PDFs in one place, sold per user with a free tier.

How a report is made
A comment pinned on the page, from a shareable link. Guests need no sign up
Free plan
A free Basic plan with 1 project and 5 pages. Its plan card and its comparison table disagree on how many users and guests it carriesPending verification
Paid plan entry
Pro, $18 a month per user, for 1 admin and up to 50 users. The annual figure is not in the served page

What are Jam and Ruttl built for?

Jam

Jam

Jam is built so that a bug found by an engineer, a tester or a support agent arrives with its evidence already attached: console logs, network requests, user events and device data, recorded from a Chrome extension, an iOS app or a shared Recording Link. The free plan carries 30 Jams a month with recordings up to 5 minutes and 5 creator seats. Its Instant Replay is an opt-in rolling buffer of the last two minutes kept in the browser, its MCP server writes as well as reads, and its documentation states the recorder interface cannot currently be customised.

Ruttl

Ruttl

Ruttl covers more surfaces than depth: one place to comment on a live website, a mobile app, an image or a PDF, sold per user with a free Basic plan and guests who comment from a shareable link with no sign up. Pro is $18 a month per user for one admin and up to 50 users, and the yearly figure is painted in by a script rather than served in the page. No console logs, no network requests and no session replay appear anywhere on its site; its video is a clip the reporter uploads. Its MCP server marks a thread resolved once the fix is live.

How do Jam and Ruttl compare head to head?

Dimension
Jam Jam
Ruttl Ruttl
How a report is made
A Chrome extension, an iOS app, or a Recording Link that needs no account
A comment pinned on the page, from a shareable link. Guests need no sign up
Free plan
30 Jams a month, 5 Recording Links, recordings up to 5 minutes, 5 creator seats
A free Basic plan with 1 project and 5 pages. Its plan card and its comparison table disagree on how many users and guests it carries Pending verification
Paid plan entry
Team, $14 per creator a month billed yearly, for up to 50 creator seats
Pro, $18 a month per user, for 1 admin and up to 50 users. The annual figure is not in the served page
Session replay
Instant Replay, an opt-in rolling buffer of the last 2 minutes held in the browser
Not offered. No session replay appears on its site
Console and network capture
Included on Free
Not offered. Neither appears on its site
Screen recording
Included on Free, capped at 5 minutes. 15 minutes from Team
Video comments, uploaded by the reporter rather than captured
Surfaces
Web pages in a browser tab, and the desktop
Live websites, mobile apps, images and PDFs
Issue tracker integrations
Jira, Linear, GitHub, GitLab, Asana, ClickUp, Azure DevOps and Notion, on Free
Trello, Slack, Asana and Jira on Free. ClickUp from Pro. Monday listed as coming soon; GitHub not listed
MCP server
Included on Free. Reads logs and requests, writes comments, folders and Recording Links
Reads tickets and marks threads resolved. Whether Pro is needed is asked on its page and not answered in the served page Pending verification
Who is free
Viewers, unlimited. Creators are counted
Guests, from a shared link. Users are priced
Storage
Not stated on the pricing page Pending verification
1 GB on Basic, 50 GB on Pro, 100 GB on Business
Single sign-on
SAML on Enterprise, priced on request
SAML on Business, quoted rather than listed

Every claim about Jam and Ruttl comes from each vendor's own public materials, read on 13 September 2026. Products change; check each vendor's site before deciding. Pending cells are unresearched, not zero.

When should you choose Jam, and when Ruttl?

Jam

Choose Jam when

  • The report has to explain a bug. Jam attaches the console, the network requests and a replay; Ruttl publishes none of the three, so a Ruttl comment points at a place on the page and stops.
  • Your issues live in GitHub. Jam connects it on the free plan; Ruttl does not list GitHub anywhere and marks Monday as coming soon.
  • You want the annual price before you commit. Jam publishes $14 per creator a month billed yearly; Ruttl's yearly panel is served empty and filled in by a script.
  • A coding agent is part of the loop. Jam's MCP server reads the logs and writes comments and folders, and Jam AI drafts reproduction steps from the recording.
Ruttl

Choose Ruttl when

  • The feedback is about design across several kinds of file. Ruttl takes comments on websites, mobile apps, images and PDFs in one place; Jam records a browser.
  • The reviewers are clients. Ruttl's guests comment from a shareable link with no sign up; a Jam report is made by someone who installed the extension or received a Recording Link.
  • You want a free tier with the common trackers already wired. Ruttl's Basic connects Trello, Slack, Asana and Jira at no cost.
  • The bill should follow headcount rather than recordings. Ruttl is $18 per user a month with unlimited projects and pages; Jam counts creators and caps free recordings at 30 a month.
Notarus

The third option

Where does Notarus fit?

Notarus is the widget that sits between the two: on the client's live page like a Ruttl pin, carrying what a Jam carries. Session replay recorded server side, console logs, network requests, a screen recording and the environment come with every report on the free plan, with unlimited seats and 5 projects, and the reporter never needs an account. A named client access follows the project with its own key and is never a member of your organisation.

It stops at the web page. There is no review of images, PDFs or mobile apps, no mobile SDK, no browser extension and no desktop recording, and no Intercom or Zendesk integration. Feedback is pushed to seven trackers, Slack and Teams, and that is the whole product.

All three prices are published on the pricing page, and so is the SAML tier.

Seats on Free
Unlimited
Projects on Free
5
Replay retention
30 days
Session replay
On Free
Console and network
Every report
MCP server
Every plan

What do buyers ask about Jam vs Ruttl?

Does Ruttl capture console logs like Jam?

No. Neither console logs nor network requests appear anywhere on Ruttl's site, including its pricing page and its feature pages for web applications; a report arrives as a comment pinned to a place on the page. Jam's pricing table marks console logs and network requests on all three of its plans, including the free one.

Can a client report through Jam without installing anything?

Yes, through a Recording Link, which Jam's documentation describes as needing no install, no account and no downloads on their end. The recorder is Jam's own and cannot currently be customised. On Ruttl a guest comments from a shareable link with no sign up.

How do the two free plans compare?

Jam's free plan is 30 Jams a month, 5 Recording Links, recordings up to 5 minutes and 5 creator seats, with viewers unlimited. Ruttl's free Basic plan is 1 project and 5 pages, and its pricing page gives two different answers for how many users and guests it carries, one on the plan card and one in the comparison table, so we quote neither.

Which one reviews a mobile app?

Ruttl, which takes comments on mobile apps through an NPM package alongside websites, images and PDFs. Jam has an iOS app for recording a bug, not a review canvas over an app.

How much storage do Jam and Ruttl include?

Ruttl states it and Jam does not. Ruttl's pricing page lists 1 GB on Basic, 50 GB on Pro and 100 GB on Business. Jam's pricing page does not state a storage figure; its free plan is limited by count instead, 30 Jams a month with recordings up to 5 minutes, and Team lifts recordings to 15 minutes. A team that measures its bill in gigabytes gets a number from Ruttl and a recording cap from Jam.

Or try the third option on the free plan.

5 projects and unlimited seats, session replay included. No card.

<script src="…/widget.js" data-key="pb_pub_…">