Markup.io vs Ruttl

Markup.io is for a large group and many file types; Ruttl is for a small team wanting a free start and named integrations. Markup.io has no free plan; its workspace is $79 a month with unlimited members. Ruttl starts free, then $18 a user a month, with Trello, Slack, Asana and Jira on the free plan.

  • Reviewed
  • 7 pending verification
Markup.io

Markup.io

A review tool for files and websites, sold by workspace rather than by seat, where collaborators join as guests without registering and more than thirty file types, video included, take comments.

Free plan
None. A 14 day trial that asks for a card; a lapsed trial keeps the five most recent MarkUps and 10 GB
Paid plan entry
Pro, $79 a month, for one workspace with unlimited members, admins and guests
What the price counts
MarkUps per month; people are unlimited
Ruttl

Ruttl

A feedback tool spread across surfaces rather than depth: live websites, mobile apps, images and PDFs in one place, sold per user with a free tier.

Free plan
A free Basic plan with 1 project and 5 pages. Its plan card and its comparison table disagree on how many users it carriesPending verification
Paid plan entry
Pro, $18 a month per user, for 1 admin and up to 50 users, with unlimited projects and pages. The annual figure is not in the served page
What the price counts
Users. Above 50 the price is on request

What are Markup.io and Ruttl built for?

Markup.io

Markup.io

Markup.io is a review tool for files and websites, sold by workspace rather than by seat. Every plan carries unlimited members, admins and guests, collaborators join without registering, and comments go on any of more than thirty file types, video included. Its site does not mention console logs, network requests or session replay; its Chrome extension attaches a screenshot to a comment, and its integrations are described by category rather than by name.

Ruttl

Ruttl

Ruttl is a feedback tool spread across surfaces: live websites, mobile apps through an NPM package, images and PDFs, in one place under one login, sold per user with a free tier and unlimited guests commenting from a shared link. No console logs, network requests or session replay appear anywhere on its site. Its MCP server reads tickets and marks a thread resolved once the fix ships, and its annual price is painted in by a script rather than served in the page.

How do Markup.io and Ruttl compare head to head?

Dimension
Markup.io Markup.io
Ruttl Ruttl
Free plan
None. A 14 day trial that asks for a card; a lapsed trial keeps the five most recent MarkUps and 10 GB
A free Basic plan with 1 project and 5 pages. Its plan card and its comparison table disagree on how many users it carries Pending verification
Paid plan entry
Pro, $79 a month, for one workspace with unlimited members, admins and guests
Pro, $18 a month per user, for 1 admin and up to 50 users, with unlimited projects and pages. The annual figure is not in the served page
What the price counts
MarkUps per month; people are unlimited
Users. Above 50 the price is on request
What it takes feedback on
Live websites and more than thirty file types, including video
Live websites, mobile apps, images and PDFs
Outside reviewers
Guests join without registering, unlimited on every plan
Guests comment from a shareable link with no sign up
Session replay
Not mentioned anywhere on its site
Not offered. No session replay appears on its site
Console and network capture
Not mentioned anywhere on its site
Not offered. Neither console logs nor network requests appear on its site
Screen recording
Not stated on its site. Uploaded video files can be reviewed Pending verification
Video comments, uploaded by the reporter rather than captured
Issue tracker integrations
Described as project management, content management and design tools; none named Pending verification
Trello, Slack, Asana and Jira from the free plan. ClickUp from Pro. Monday is listed as coming soon and GitHub is not listed
MCP server
Not stated on its site Pending verification
An MCP server that reads tickets and marks threads resolved. Whether Pro is required is not answered in the served page Pending verification
Storage
10 GB on a lapsed trial; live plan storage not stated Pending verification
1 GB on Basic, 50 GB on Pro, 100 GB on Business
Single sign-on
Not stated on its site Pending verification
SAML on Business, which is quoted rather than listed

Every claim about Markup.io and Ruttl comes from each vendor's own public materials, read on 13 September 2026. Products change; check each vendor's site before deciding. Pending cells are unresearched, not zero.

When should you choose Markup.io, and when Ruttl?

Markup.io

Choose Markup.io when

  • The review group is large. Markup.io's $79 workspace carries unlimited members, admins and guests; Ruttl bills $18 a user a month and stops publishing a price above 50.
  • You need the file types. Markup.io states more than thirty including video; Ruttl lists live websites, mobile apps, images and PDFs.
  • You want the annual price in writing before you buy. Markup.io publishes $79 a month and a yearly figure; Ruttl's yearly panel is served empty and filled in by a script.
Ruttl

Choose Ruttl when

  • You want to start at no cost with the trackers already wired. Ruttl's free Basic plan connects Trello, Slack, Asana and Jira; Markup.io has no free plan and names no integrations in public.
  • The feedback is on a mobile app. Ruttl takes comments on mobile apps through an NPM package.
  • Your team is small and pays by the head. Two users on Ruttl's Pro, at $18 a user, come to $36 a month, under Markup.io's $79 for a workspace.
  • You want the agent to close the thread. Ruttl's MCP server marks a thread resolved once the fix is live.
Notarus

The third option

Where does Notarus fit?

Neither of these two says why the page broke, only where. Notarus records that on the free plan: session replay, console logs, network requests and the environment come with every report, with unlimited seats and 5 projects, and every panel action is also an MCP tool.

It covers one surface where these cover several. A live web page only: no mobile app, no image, no PDF and no video file, and no Intercom or Zendesk. If the feedback is about a design file or an app, this page's two tools are the ones to weigh.

Where Ruttl's annual figure is painted in by a script and Markup.io's upper tiers are quoted, Notarus prints its three prices on the pricing page and does not count seats on any of them.

Seats on Free
Unlimited
Projects on Free
5
Replay retention
30 days
Session replay
On Free
Console and network
Every report
MCP server
Every plan

What do buyers ask about Markup.io vs Ruttl?

Does Ruttl have a free plan and Markup.io not?

Yes. Ruttl's Basic plan is free, with 1 project and 5 pages and Trello, Slack, Asana and Jira connected, though its pricing page gives two different user counts for it. Markup.io no longer offers a free plan; its 14 day trial asks for a card, and a lapsed trial is restricted to the five most recent MarkUps and 10 GB.

Which is cheaper, Markup.io or Ruttl?

It depends on headcount. Ruttl's Pro is $18 a month per user, so three people pay $54 and ten pay $180 on the published figure. Markup.io's Pro is $79 a month for a workspace with unlimited members and guests. Up to four users Ruttl is cheaper, at $72 for four; from five, at $90, Markup.io is, and past 50 users Ruttl's price becomes a conversation.

Do either of them capture what the browser was doing?

No. Ruttl's site mentions no console logs, no network requests and no session replay anywhere, and its video is a clip the reporter uploads. Markup.io's site does not mention any of the three either; its Chrome extension attaches a screenshot to the comment.

Which integrates with Jira?

Ruttl does, on its free plan, alongside Trello, Slack and Asana, with ClickUp on Pro and Monday listed as coming soon. Markup.io's pricing page says it works with project management, content management and design tools without naming one, and the page it links to for the full list did not open on the day it was read.

Can Ruttl or Markup.io take feedback on a mobile app?

Ruttl can. It lists mobile apps, through an NPM package, beside live websites, images and PDFs, all under one login. Markup.io does not state a mobile SDK on its site; what it names is live websites and more than thirty file types, video included, so a video file can be uploaded and commented on, but the app itself is not a surface. Notarus offers no mobile SDK either. For feedback inside a mobile app, Ruttl is the only one of the two that names it.

Or try the third option on the free plan.

5 projects and unlimited seats, session replay included. No card.

<script src="…/widget.js" data-key="pb_pub_…">