Pastel vs Userback

Pastel is for getting a design signed off; Userback for a bug report with the browser's evidence attached. Pastel comments over a live site through its proxy, free with unlimited guest reviewers, capturing no console, network or replay. Userback starts free for two seats and reaches session replay and developer tools at Business, $79 billed annually.

  • Reviewed
  • 7 pending verification
Pastel

Pastel

A review and approval tool for creative work, layering comments over a live site through its own proxy as well as over PDFs, emails and uploaded images.

Free plan
Free Forever: 1 user, 1 active canvas and 2 GB of video storage, with unlimited guest reviewers
Paid plan entry
Pro, $35 a month or $29 billed annually, for 2 users and 3 active canvases
What is counted
Users and active canvases. Unlimited canvases from Team
Userback

Userback

A feedback platform with a four-step ladder, opening up AI insights, replay and mobile SDKs as a team moves up it.

Free plan
Free Forever: 2 seats, 2 projects, and feedback stays visible for 7 days
Paid plan entry
Team, $39 a month or $29 billed annually, for 5 seats and 5 projects
What is counted
Seats on Free and Team; projects on every tier, 2, 5, 25 and 50

What are Pastel and Userback built for?

Pastel

Pastel

Pastel is a review and approval tool for creative work. It layers comments over a live website through its own proxy, so nothing is installed on the site, and takes the same comments on PDFs, emails, uploaded images and uploaded video. It counts users and active canvases, one on Free Forever and three on Pro at $35 a month or $29 billed annually, and stops counting canvases on Team. Guest reviewers are unlimited on every plan, its MCP server describes an agent that makes the change and resolves the comment, and it captures no console logs, no network requests and no session replay.

Userback

Userback

Userback is a feedback platform built around a widget, with a four-step ladder. Free Forever carries two seats and two projects and keeps feedback visible for seven days. Team adds five seats, five projects and MCP connectors for Claude, ChatGPT and Cursor. Business adds session replay, the developer tools that capture console and network activity, AI insights and sentiment, and 25 projects. Business Plus adds a mobile SDK and 50 projects. Intercom and Zendesk are among its integrations.

How do Pastel and Userback compare head to head?

Dimension
Pastel Pastel
Userback Userback
Free plan
Free Forever: 1 user, 1 active canvas and 2 GB of video storage, with unlimited guest reviewers
Free Forever: 2 seats, 2 projects, and feedback stays visible for 7 days
Paid plan entry
Pro, $35 a month or $29 billed annually, for 2 users and 3 active canvases
Team, $39 a month or $29 billed annually, for 5 seats and 5 projects
What is counted
Users and active canvases. Unlimited canvases from Team
Seats on Free and Team; projects on every tier, 2, 5, 25 and 50
Outsiders
Unlimited guest reviewers on every plan, including Free
Not described as a separate free role on the pricing page Pending verification
Installation
Nothing on the site. Comments are layered over the live page through Pastel's own proxy
A widget on the site
What it takes feedback on
Live websites, PDFs, emails, uploaded images and uploaded video
Websites through the widget; native apps through the mobile SDK on Business Plus
Session replay
Not offered on any plan
Business plan, $99 a month or $79 billed annually
Console and network capture
Not offered on any plan
Business plan, listed as developer tools
Screen recording
Not stated on its plans page Pending verification
Video recording, plan not stated on the pricing page Pending verification
AI features
Not stated on its plans page Pending verification
AI insights and sentiment from Business
Issue tracker integrations
Trello, Asana, Jira, ClickUp and Monday on Team. Neither GitHub nor Linear is listed
Not itemised by tracker on the pricing page Pending verification
Support-desk integrations
Not stated on its plans page Pending verification
Intercom and Zendesk
MCP server
An agent that reads the comment, makes the change, replies and resolves it, named for Cursor, Claude and ChatGPT
MCP connectors from Team, for Claude, ChatGPT and Cursor
Single sign-on
SAML on Enterprise, $450 a month from 10 users
Not stated on the pricing page Pending verification

Every claim about Pastel and Userback comes from each vendor's own public materials, read on 13 September 2026. Products change; check each vendor's site before deciding. Pending cells are unresearched, not zero.

When should you choose Pastel, and when Userback?

Pastel

Choose Pastel when

  • The thing being reviewed is not a web page. Pastel takes comments on PDFs, emails, uploaded images and uploaded video; Userback collects through a widget on a site or an SDK in an app.
  • You cannot deploy a snippet to the site under review. Pastel reaches it through its own proxy; Userback needs its widget on the page.
  • The reviewers are clients you will never buy seats for. Pastel's guest reviewers are unlimited on every plan; Userback counts seats on Free and Team.
  • You want the agent to fix and close. Pastel describes its MCP server as making the change in the codebase and resolving the comment; Userback's connectors are described as giving the assistant context.
Userback

Choose Userback when

  • The comment is a bug and a developer has to reproduce it. Userback attaches session replay and console and network capture from Business; Pastel captures none of the three on any plan.
  • You collect feedback from a native mobile app. Userback ships a mobile SDK on Business Plus; Pastel does not list mobile apps among its surfaces.
  • Feedback should land in Intercom or Zendesk. Userback integrates with both; Pastel's plans page does not mention either.
  • You want two free seats rather than one. Userback's Free Forever carries two seats and two projects; Pastel's carries one user and one active canvas.
Notarus

The third option

Where does Notarus fit?

Notarus does Userback's job without the ladder and none of Pastel's. Session replay, console logs, network requests and the environment arrive with every report on the free plan, with unlimited seats and 5 projects, and a named client access follows the project with its own key without ever being a member. Every panel action is also an MCP tool as a shipping rule.

There is no canvas: no PDF, no email, no image, no uploaded video, and no proxy, so the widget must be on the page. There is no mobile SDK, which Userback has on Business Plus, and no Intercom or Zendesk integration, which Userback has on its list. A creative team approving a campaign should stay with Pastel.

All three prices are on the pricing page, with SAML on the top one rather than on request.

Seats on Free
Unlimited
Projects on Free
5
Replay retention
30 days
Session replay
On Free
Console and network
Every report
MCP server
Every plan

What do buyers ask about Pastel vs Userback?

Are Pastel and Userback the same kind of tool?

No. Pastel approves creative work: a comment over a live page, a PDF, an email or an image says what should change, and it captures no console logs, no network requests and no session replay. Userback collects feedback and bug reports through a widget and, from its Business plan, attaches session replay and the console and network logs a developer needs.

Which free plan is more useful?

For approvals, Pastel's: one user, one active canvas and unlimited guest reviewers, with no clock. For bug reports, Userback's: two seats and two projects, though feedback stops being visible after seven days, which makes it a plan for trying the product rather than running a backlog.

Does Pastel record the session like Userback?

No. Pastel states that it captures no console logs, no network requests and no session replay. Userback lists session replay and developer tools on Business, $99 a month or $79 billed annually, and not on Free or Team.

Which one connects to Jira?

Pastel does on Team, alongside Trello, Asana, ClickUp and Monday, with GitHub and Linear not listed on any plan. Userback's pricing page names Intercom and Zendesk among its integrations but does not itemise its issue trackers by tier, so that cell is marked pending rather than answered.

Does Pastel or Userback have an MCP server?

Both do, described very differently. Pastel's MCP server is an agent that reads a comment, makes the change in the codebase, replies with what it did and resolves the comment, named for Cursor, Claude and ChatGPT. Userback lists MCP connectors from its Team plan, $39 a month or $29 billed annually, for Claude, ChatGPT and Cursor, described as giving the assistant context on feedback. Notarus ships every panel action as an MCP tool as a shipping rule.

Or try the third option on the free plan.

5 projects and unlimited seats, session replay included. No card.

<script src="…/widget.js" data-key="pb_pub_…">