Pastel vs Usersnap

Pastel is the approval tool for creative work; Usersnap is the product-management platform. Pastel comments on a live site through its proxy, nothing installed, with unlimited guest reviewers from a free canvas. Usersnap puts an opportunity board, a request portal and more than fifty integrations behind a widget, from $59 a month for five seats.

  • Reviewed
  • 4 pending verification
Pastel

Pastel

A review and approval tool for creative work, layering comments over a live site through its own proxy as well as over PDFs, emails and uploaded images.

Free plan
Free Forever: 1 user and 1 active canvas, with unlimited guest reviewers
Paid plan entry
Pro, $35 a month or $29 billed annually, for 2 users and 3 active canvases
What it takes feedback on
Live websites through its own proxy, plus PDFs, emails, uploaded images and uploaded video
Usersnap

Usersnap

A product-management platform around feedback: an opportunity board, sentiment analysis, a customer request portal and behavioural targeting.

Free plan
The first 20 feedback items, with no time limit
Paid plan entry
Starter, $59 a month or $49 billed annually, for 5 seats
What it takes feedback on
A widget on a site, with more than fifty integrations behind it

What are Pastel and Usersnap built for?

Pastel

Pastel

Pastel is built for creative and marketing teams collecting approvals. A canvas is the thing being commented on, one page or one version, and the free plan keeps one active; Pro carries three at $35 a month and canvases stop being counted on Team. It captures no console logs, no network requests and no session replay, and its MCP server is described as making the change in the codebase and resolving the comment itself.

Usersnap

Usersnap

Usersnap is built for product managers running feedback at scale. Behind the widget are an opportunity board, AI sentiment and categorisation from the Growth tier, a customer request portal and behavioural targeting, across five paid tiers from Starter to Enterprise. Error console logs arrive at Professional. Its pricing page prints the amounts as data attributes, so a reader without JavaScript sees empty prices.

How do Pastel and Usersnap compare head to head?

Dimension
Pastel Pastel
Usersnap Usersnap
Free plan
Free Forever: 1 user and 1 active canvas, with unlimited guest reviewers
The first 20 feedback items, with no time limit
Paid plan entry
Pro, $35 a month or $29 billed annually, for 2 users and 3 active canvases
Starter, $59 a month or $49 billed annually, for 5 seats
What it takes feedback on
Live websites through its own proxy, plus PDFs, emails, uploaded images and uploaded video
A widget on a site, with more than fifty integrations behind it
Installation
Nothing to install on the site being reviewed
A widget on the page
Reviewers
Guest reviewers are unlimited on every plan, the free one included
Seats are counted on every tier: 5 on Starter, 20 on Professional
Session replay
Not offered on any plan
Not stated on the pricing page Pending verification
Console and network capture
Not offered on any plan
Error console logs from Professional, $229 a month or $189 billed annually
Screen recording
Not stated. Uploaded video is reviewed on a canvas Pending verification
Video feedback and screen recording, described as across all plans
Issue tracker integrations
Trello, Asana, Jira, ClickUp and Monday on Team, $119 a month or $99 billed annually. GitHub and Linear are not listed
More than fifty integrations, Zendesk and Azure DevOps among them
Product-management layer
Not stated on the plans page. Approvals, not a backlog Pending verification
Opportunity board, customer request portal and behavioural targeting
MCP server
An agent reads the comment, makes the change, replies and resolves the comment; Cursor, Claude and ChatGPT are named
An MCP connector, described as giving an AI assistant context on feedback
Mobile SDK
Not stated on the plans page Pending verification
Premium tier
Single sign-on
SAML on Enterprise, $450 a month from 10 users
Enterprise tier

Every claim about Pastel and Usersnap comes from each vendor's own public materials, read on 13 September 2026. Products change; check each vendor's site before deciding. Pending cells are unresearched, not zero.

When should you choose Pastel, and when Usersnap?

Pastel

Choose Pastel when

  • You cannot put anything on the site you are reviewing. Pastel comments on a live page through its own proxy with no snippet and no extension, which reaches a client's staging site on a day nobody can deploy for you.
  • The thing being approved is a PDF, an email or an uploaded image rather than a web page. Pastel reviews all of them on a canvas; Usersnap collects feedback through a widget on a site.
  • Your reviewers are clients you are not going to buy seats for. Guest reviewers are unlimited on every Pastel plan, the free one included; Usersnap counts seats on every tier.
  • You want the agent to make the change, not open a ticket. Pastel's own description of its MCP server has the agent editing the codebase and resolving the comment.
Usersnap

Choose Usersnap when

  • Feedback arrives from many channels and has to be weighed before it is acted on. Usersnap's opportunity board, request portal and sentiment analysis exist for that; Pastel's plans page describes approvals and nothing of that kind.
  • A developer needs the console. Usersnap attaches error console logs from Professional; Pastel states that it captures none of the console, the network or the session.
  • Feedback has to come through a support desk. Usersnap lists Zendesk among more than fifty integrations; Pastel names five trackers, all held to Team, and neither GitHub nor Linear.
  • You need the feedback in several languages or from a native mobile app. Usersnap offers both, the SDK on Premium; Pastel's plans page does not mention mobile.
Notarus

The third option

Where does Notarus fit?

Notarus is for the reader whose review round has turned into a bug queue. A widget collects the report on a live page, and it arrives with the session replay, the console, the failed network request and the environment already attached, on a free plan with unlimited seats and 5 projects. Every panel action is also an MCP tool, so an agent works the same board a person does.

It reviews nothing but a live web page. There is no canvas for a PDF, an email or an uploaded image, no proxy that reaches a site without the widget on it, and no mobile SDK. Nor is there an opportunity board, a request portal, or an Intercom or Zendesk integration, so neither Pastel's approvals nor Usersnap's discovery layer has an equivalent here.

Free, Pro and Scale are all priced on the pricing page, the SAML tier included.

Seats on Free
Unlimited
Projects on Free
5
Replay retention
30 days
Session replay
On Free
Console and network
Every report
MCP server
Every plan

What do buyers ask about Pastel vs Usersnap?

Is Pastel a bug reporting tool like Usersnap?

No. Pastel describes itself as a review and approval tool for creative work, and it states that it captures no console logs, no network requests and no session replay. A Pastel comment says where on the page, not what the browser was doing. Usersnap is closer to a bug reporting tool, with error console logs from its Professional tier, though its centre of gravity is product management rather than bug capture.

Which is cheaper, Pastel or Usersnap?

Pastel, at the entry. Its Pro plan is $35 a month or $29 billed annually for two users and three active canvases, against Usersnap's Starter at $59 a month or $49 billed annually for five seats. Pastel's free plan is also an ongoing plan, one user and one active canvas with unlimited guests, where Usersnap's ends at the twentieth feedback item. The catch on Pastel is the canvas count: a second review means retiring the first until Team.

Do Pastel and Usersnap need a widget on the site?

Usersnap does; feedback is collected through its widget and its integrations. Pastel does not: it layers comments over a live website through its own proxy, with no code snippet or Chrome extension to install, which is what lets it review a site its users cannot deploy to.

Which has the more capable MCP server?

By the vendors' own descriptions, Pastel's. It has the agent read a new comment, make the change in the codebase, reply with what it did and resolve the comment, naming Cursor, Claude and ChatGPT. Usersnap describes an MCP connector that gives an AI assistant context on feedback, a reading job as far as that description goes.

Does Pastel or Usersnap integrate with Jira?

Both do, on different terms. Pastel connects Trello, Asana, Jira, ClickUp and Monday only on its Team plan, $119 a month or $99 billed annually, and lists neither GitHub nor Linear on any plan. Usersnap lists more than fifty integrations, with Zendesk and Azure DevOps among them, behind its widget. A team whose issues live in Jira pays for Pastel's Team tier to reach it, or takes Usersnap, whose catalogue also reaches a support desk.

Or try the third option on the free plan.

5 projects and unlimited seats, session replay included. No card.

<script src="…/widget.js" data-key="pb_pub_…">